Meet our team 
together we are awahih

ProgramDirectors, Artists in Residence, Volunteers,Board of Directors, Board of Advisors,Honorary Trustees,and Interns

christy p.jpg

Christy Ponder 

Co- Executive Director and Artist-in-Residence 

Meet Christy Ponder! Christy leads our team of artists-in-residence, community volunteers, and University of North Florida student interns.

She started volunteering with AWAHIH in 2011 and knew right away she wanted to be apart of AWAHIH's mission. After realizing that not many people knew about AWAHIH's work, Christy felt it was an easy decision to make when the board chair asked her to step into the executive director role. As a trained chef, Christy says more of her artistry happens in the kitchen than on the canvas. That said, she views her role at AWAHIH "as a creative process of supporting our artists, making sure they have the resources they need to conduct successful art sessions with patients."


Christy says "I see the impact that art has on the hospital floor on a daily basis. We are the one thing that kids get to choose while in a hospital setting. They can choose to paint, or to draw, or to make jewelry or origami, among many options. They can even choose just to have an artist sit with them and paint a piece for them. Our service provides empowerment in a frequently powerless situation." 

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom


Brooke McKinney, MA - Communications/ Artist-in-Residence 

Matt Richards - Artist-in-Residence

Jill Swanson, MA - Artist-in-Residence

Dylan Bauer - Artist-in-Residence

Contracted Artists

Bob Drost 

Lisa Miyares

Heidi Drost 

Abigail Santos

John Guinta
Kianna Godoy

Lori Presto


Patsy Moore
Helen Meatte
Janet Massey

Teresa Graham

We are so grateful for the dedication of our generous volunteers!

Board of Directors

Hillary Whitaker - Board Chair

Casey Cohen

Judy Powell- Treasure     


Bebe Alexander

Kerri Carter 

Toni Boudreaux- Secretary

Teresa Graham

Board of Advisors

Lori Guadagno - Co-founder

Lisa Landwirth Ullmann - Co-founder

Brooks Cannon

Robert Monsky

Cynthia Jacoby Greene

Katherine Loeb

Sam Hall

Kathy Soler-Sala

Melissa Roland

Jennifer Guthrie

Honorary Trustees

Louise Freshman Brown

Professor University of North Florida

Suzanne McCormick Taylor

Community Volunteer


Karen Wolfson

Wolfson Children's Hospital